Weekly Report – 27th May-2nd June 2024

Mourne Way Marathon and Half-Marathon

Michael O’Donoghue and Jenny Powell were representing Orangegrove AC at in the Mourne Way Marathon and Half-Marathon at the weekend. This event started in 2009, and was the first ever mass participation off road marathon in Ireland.

Huge congrats to Michael and Jenny, a great achievement completing such challenging races. Hopefully you had a great day in the Mournes, the weather certainly held up its end of the bargain.

Michael O’Donoghue – 7.11.09

Jenny Powell – 2.46.35

Balbriggan Summerfest 5k

Brian Todd was in Balbriggan last week for the Summerfest 5k. This is a beautiful course starting a Bremore Castle, passing the Martello Tower and offering great views of both Dublin Bay and the harbour – with a fine feast to follow apparently! Well done Brian!

Brian Todd – 23.26

Parkrun Report


Lots of parkrun tourism from OAC last weekend with 7 of us visiting new locations; Emily Paisley in Limavady, Stephen Uprichard at Knockbracken Reservoir, Colin Simpson and Verity Cornford at Wzniesienie Osowy (in Gdansk in Poland), Keith Weir at Limepark Playing Fields, Jean Stone at Ballinamore Greenway and Elaine Weston at The Fisherman’s Walk. Verity has the most locations from these folks with the parkrun in Gdansk being her 54th location.

Our parkrun highlight this weekend came much closer to home though, as Steven Gilliland ran his Victoria Park PB with a time of 21.57.

Well done everyone!



John Gribben – 44.37

Belfast Victoria

Thomas Leitch – 19.46
Paul Woodman – 21.45
Steven Gilliland – 21.57
Pauline Bayliss – 22.32
Stephen Anderson – 22.47
Tom Smith – 22.57
Luke Reid – 26.39
Gillian McGucken – 27.16
Eoghan Rainey – 29.39

Erin Beattie – 35.29
Darren Moan – 36.19


Chris Heaney – 23.32


Hannah Montgomery – 35.03


Simon Cordoba – 29.01


George Gribben – 29.37


Emily Paisley – 26.37


Kimberley Reynolds – 24.36
David Fletcher – 25.54
Jackie Grant – 30.34


Robin Montgomery – 22.31
Andrew Bates – 23.50
Heather Flint – 28.07
Eric Fairfield – 32.54

Knockbracken Reservoir

Stephen Uprichard – 24.27
Gerald Harvey – 29.46

Wzniesienie Osowy

Colin Simpson – 24.51
Verity Cornford – 28.47

Limepark Playing Fields

Keith Weir – 19.15

Ballinamore Greenway

Jean Stone – 34.31

The Fisherman’s Walk

Elaine Weston – 26.19