Weekly Report – 25th December-31st December 2023

CIYMS Boxing Day Fun Run

Orangegrove AC brought back this popular event which dates back almost 40 years on the Belfast running calendar. The 5k race was mostly within Belmont Park and included a visit from Santa himself.

We would like to once again thank everyone who participated in the event. It was great to bring back the CIYMS Boxing Day Fund Run after a 3 year absence, and to raise money for NI Hospice and NI Children’s Hospice.

Andy Carson – 18.55
Keith Weir – 19.07
Thomas Parkins – 19.41
Tom Smith – 19.42
Brian Todd – 24.14
Andrew Bates – 24.50
George Gribben – 31.50
Michael O’Donoghue – 44.51

Castlewellan Christmas Cracker

Well this looked tragic. With all the rain on the week leading up to this event the course was a real mud bath and apparently at a couple of points during the race runners were running through cow dung. A real shame that I was unable to attend this year.

Orangegrove had a great turnout though with 6 teams of our members involved. There was also some great fancy dress being worn with Edwina Ternan dressing as Barbie and her team-mate Michael O’Donoghue just wearing his usual everyday pink outfit and blonde wig.

Well done to you all for taking part in those conditions. Congratulations also to Brian Todd for winning his age category with his partner – great running!

Nathan Robinson & Andrew Carson – 1.07.01
Michael O’Donoghue & Edwina Ternan – 1.22.41
Brian Todd & Mary Mackin – 1.23.18
Colin Simpson & Heather Flint – 1.36.12
Ian Wilson & Reg Sanlon – 1.39.54
Emily Paisley & Adrienne Savage – 1.41.11

Parkrun Report


Not much action at the final Saturday parkrun of the year! Michael O’Donoghue visited a new location in Donabate on Saturday and has since done Buncrana on the New Year’s Day parkrun so is now up to 87 locations in total.

Well done everyone!


Belfast Victoria

David Gilliland – 24.13
Jason Lanyon – 27.09
Alan Montgomery – 35.16


David Carberry – 22.42


Kimberley Reynolds – 27.10
Stephen Hamilton – 30.07
Alison Canning – 31.06


Michael O’Donoghue – 26.43


Verity Cornford – 29.40

Knockbracken Reservoir

Elaine Weston – 27.34