Weekly Report – 3rd April-9th April 2023

Ballyliffin 10 mile coastal challenge

Ian Wilson ran the Ballyliffin coastal challenge on Saturday. Unfortunately I couldn’t find any photos of the event! But from reading online it’s apparently a beautiful scenic route with the finish line actually on the beach – we’ll have to take their word for it.

Ian Wilson – 1.31.05

Manx Mountain Marathon

A race event containing the words “mountain” and “marathon” can only mean one thing – Michael O’Donoghue representing the club. At the start of the race each runner is provided with a list of 12 hills that have to be climbed, as a result of this there is hardly any flat path in the entire marathon. According to Michael the locals were friendly and the event was extremely well marshalled.

This is MOD’s 150th Marathon – well done on a fantastic milestone! He let us know that this isn’t one he’s going to forget though. In his words “one of the best events you can do for £20.” Praise from Caesar. The free beer at the finish line couldn’t have hurt either.

The island’s rugged charm and the great views on the route have been captured by Michael in his photos included at the bottom of the report – well worth a look!  

Michael O’Donoghue – 9.01.19

Parkrun Report


Not too much to report on the parkrun front – a few of us got out to new parkrun locations; John Gribben at Temple Newsam, Judith McCann at Falcarragh, myself at Orangefield, and Anna Rankin, Adrienne Savage, Emily Paisley and Anne Devlin at Crawfordsburn.

Judith McCann leads the way out of this bunch, with Falcarragh being her 17th parkrun location.


Belfast Victoria

Robin Montgomery – 19.49
Chris Heaney – 23.57
Darren Moan – 32.02
Erin Beattie – 38.17

Temple Newsam

John Gribben – 35.32


Elaine Bates – 28.09


Keith Weir – 19.52
David Montgomery – 20.01
Gillian McGucken – 28.30


David Gilliland – 23.59


Melinda Wilkinson – 30.10
Jill Holland – 33.00
Catherine McIntyre – 33.02


Judith McCann – 31.19


Verity Cornford – 28.02


Sean Tanuvasa – 18.46
Andrew Carson – 18.56
Colin Simpson – 23.18


Anna Rankin – 28.48
Selina Myles – 31.02
Adrienne Savage – 31.05
Emily Paisley – 31.18
Anne Devlin – 31.43

Knockbracken Reservoir

Richard Bryson – 23.09
Elaine Weston – 26.12