Jimmy’s 10K – Club Championship Round 2

The second fixture on the OAC Club Championship is Jimmy’s 10k which took place on Sunday 12th March in Downpatrick. The well-loved race is in memory of Jimmy Murray, a Downpatrick school teacher and a founding member of race organiser East Down AC.
Jimmy’s also kicks off this year’s Novosco Grand Prix which last year saw Brian Todd narrowly miss out on a prize with a fantastic AGP of 80:91% in 18th place overall.

As expected Orangegrove was well represented with an impressive 45 runners taking to the start line and with 5 additional CC points on offer for a PB there were elbows a-plenty at the start line. The race kicked off at 11am from the East Down club house in Downpatrick and OAC athletes started strongly in the dry, mild conditions. Andy McIntyre was first OAC home in 35:31 with a new PB and fantastically placed 18th male overall. Close behind were Robin Montgomery in 39:35 and Tim Robinson in 40:31. Andrew Tees ran very well and chalked up a new PB of 40:59. Stephen Anderson wasn’t far behind in 43:13 and managed to shave 1 second off his PB after 2 years of trying. Well done Stephen! Brian Todd impressed with a time of 43:54 and took home his age category prize, excellent running Brian.

Julie McKimm was first lady home in a very speedy 44:31, closely followed by Pauline Bayliss in 45:21. Sharon Corken finished strongly with a new PB of 49:48 and Sarah Wilson recorded a time of 51:50, a new PB. Well done Sarah!

Judith McCann ran a PB of 53:33 and Sharon McFarland 59:17, also taking home a new PB. Well done Sharon, looking strong and it’s great to see your hard work is paying off. A very special well done to Adrienne Savage who ran a fantastic time of 1:00:03, knocking a phenomenal 10 minutes off her PB and looking so strong whilst doing it. Well done Adrienne!

The race was won by Ben Branagh (St Malachy’s 31:33) and Laura Graham (Mourne Runners 34:59).

Well done everyone, great running and we can look forward to seeing the Club Championship standings.

Andy McIntyre 35:31 PB + 18th overall
Robin Montgomery 39:35  
Tim Robinson 40:31  
Andrew Tees 40:59 PB
Stephen Anderson 43:13 PB
Darren Houston 43:20  
Brian Todd 43:54 1st M60
Julie McKimm 44:31  
Ian Grant 44:58  
Pauline Bayliss 45:21  
Michael O’Donoghue 46:04  
Louise Browne 46:32  
John Neill 48:52  
Gerald Harvey 48:59  
Fintan Hurl 49:42  
Andrew Allen 49:47  
Heather Shanks-Miller 49:48  
Sharon Corken 49:48 PB
Sarah Steer 50:12  
Lisa Fleming 50:31  
Emma McWilliams 50:53  
Reg Sanlon 50:42  
Ian Millgate 50:48  
Kerris Hamilton 50:49  
Brian McFarland 51:05 PB
Jill Holland 51:07  
Sarah Wilson 51:50 PB
Ian Wilson 52:16  
Anna Rankin 52:51  
Jacqui Maxwell 53:03  
Martin Doherty 53:30  
Judith McCann 53:33 PB
Alan Montgomery 55:00  
Catherine Fearon 56:03  
Melinda Wilkinson 56:36  
Heather Flint 57:04 PB
Sharon McFarland 59:17 PB
Adrienne Savage 1:00:03 PB
Susan Anderson 1:00:37 PB
Jackie Grant 1:01:21  
Stephen Craig 1:02:01  
Mairead Napier 1:03:33  
Ian Reid 1:03:37  
Anne Devlin 1:07:30  
Lisa Nevin 1:08:19 PB