Millisle PSC 6 Miler

These 3 mile and 6 mile races in the coastal village of Millisle brought back warm memories for OAC after virtually a clean sweep of victories in both the event and the attached Ards series the previous year.  It was a more subdued event for the club this year, but there was still a reasonable presence and potential for doing well.

In all there were 10 runners from the club present, with a particularly formidable group of ladies present.  Leann Gibson was the quickest OAC member on the day with a time of 39m47s.  She was also second lady and won a prize.  Brian Todd was next with a time of 41m32s and won his age category.  The ever impressive Anne Moore, who also won a category prize at Portaferry, a previous event in the series was 5th lady with a time of 42m13s.

Other times were:

Joe Craney 43m10s
Michael O’Donoghue 44m27s
Darren Houston 46m32s
Verity Cornford 49m10s
Selina Myles 49m40s

In the 3 mile event Ursula Graham and Dawn Doherty finished with times of 32m28s and 32m43s respectively.

No prizes for the series this year, with the men’s prize going to Ballydrain Harriers, and the ladies going to North Down AC. Next year perhaps!