Seeley Cup 10K

This was the final round of the Novosco 10K Series and therefore the last chance to move up the ranking list and make some money. When the dust had settled, the first prize of £800 went to Ruth Peroli (Ballydrain Harriers). Brian Todd dropped down the ladder, but clung on to fifteenth place to win the £20 prize.

The course was the usual two and a half laps of Ormeau Embankment and Ormeau Park, starting on Ormeau Embankment, with a tricky finish on the curved park path near the tennis courts. Though last year the weather turned wet, this time conditions were well nigh perfect throughout the race. OAC was well represented and Andy McIntyre led the pack with a time of 35:48, which was a personal best. It was thought that he was overcome with emotion afterwards, but it turned out something had gone down the wrong way. Julie McKimm, despite having a back injury, was first OAC female in 44:34. Brian Todd’s time of 42:22 gave him first place in the M65 category. Amazingly, the M70 category was won with an even better time.

The race was won by John Williamson (Derry City Track Club) in 31:05 and first female was Emma Mitchell (Queens University AC) in 33:57. Well done to them both. Thanks to Podium 4 Sport and Willowfield Harriers for delivering the event again this year. Finally, thanks to all the spectators for their support, especially those from OAC.


Andrew McIntyre 35:48 PB 
Thomas Leitch 37:54  
Robin Montgomery 38:24  
Eric Fairfield 38:56 PB
Stephen Orr 39:00 PB
Chris Downey 39:10 PB
Brian Todd 42:22  
Martin O’Brien 42:29 PB
Jonathan Weston 42:21  
David Roberts 43:35 PB
Julie McKimm 44:34  
Pauline Bayliss 45:24  
Heather Shanks-Miller 48:27 PB
Jacqueline Maxwell 48:38  
Jill Holland 50:18  
David Doey 53:07  
Gerald Harvey 53:31  
Mairead Conlon 57:35  
Judith McCann 57:36  
Stephen Craig 1:01:09  
Sharon McFarland 1:01:22  
Anne Devlin 1:05:07  
Susan Anderson 1:05:08  

Thanks to Catherine Fearon for the photographs.